The fantasy series you’ve been dreaming of

Let the wonderment begin



Book I, Beyond the Gloaming, Phantasm Books, 2014

Book II, The Traitor’s Trap, Phantasm Books, 2015

Book III, The Dandelion Graveyard, 2017

Beyond the Gloaming

It is Easter, 1973 and twelve year old Sebastian Duffy has some serious self-esteem issues. He is beaten by his parents, bullied at school, steals from his friends and still mourning the death of his brother. To cap it all, strange things have begun happening around him and he is finding it hard to distinguish dreams from reality. After a nightmarish assault, he wakes in the Gloaming, a shadow world inhabited by ghosts. There to greet him is Porrig, a creature from Hibercadia, a magical realm crafted from Celtic dreams. Inhabited by Fir Bolg, Tuath and Milesians, it has been overthrown by brother gods from another dreamworld. One brother, Phobitor, is a tyrant and even the Tuath, who took to their underground sidhe millennia ago, are concerned. Sebastian discovers that he alone can save Hibercadia by finding an enchanted spear. Teaming up with the Hibernauts—a mercurial sorceress, an orphaned druidess, a taciturn warrior, a snuff-sniffing leprechaun and a lovelorn poet—he embarks on a fantastical quest, but can he succeed when he is yet to find his magical potential or even his courage, and half the realm is bent on his destruction? 

The Author


Brendan Murphy was raised in Sheffield, England, with dreams of becoming a writer, and has written every day since he was nine years old. After reading medicine in London and psychiatry in Manchester, he moved to Australia in 1999. He is an Associate Professor at Monash University and a Fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists in both Australia and the UK. He has written widely on schizophrenia and on youth mental health. His nonfiction work on the development of football in Victorian society, From Sheffield with Love, was published by SportsBooks in 2007. He is contracted to Assent Publishing for his six-book Celtic fantasy series, Sebastian and the Hibernauts. The first adventure, Beyond the Gloaming, was published in 2014, and the sequel, The Traitor’s Trap, in 2015. The third book in the series, The Dandelion Graveyard, will be published in early 2018. Brendan is also a columnist for the online druid magazine, Aontacht.

Visit Brendan’s website





Brendan Murphy is proud to be an Author Ambassador for Library For All.


Brendan Murphy is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, the internantional professional organisation for writers and illustrators of children’s literature.